Our headquarters in Fernitz still exude the glamour of the fascinating old Hollywood era. The building was erected in the 1950s as both a cinema and festival hall, and until 1976 it was home to the grandest of artworks. The cinema, operated by Franz and Anna Purkarthofer, was designed by architect Ferry Peck (Anna's brother) and geared towards intelligent, multifunctional use. Fernitz was one of the earliest cinemas to use a Cinemascope screen. In order to allow the annual balls of the carnival season enough space to spread out, it was possible to hide the cinema armchairs under the extendable stage.
If necessary, 200 floor seats and 30 seats on the balcony were facilitated on the beautiful old parquet floor using iron rails. During events, musicians and artists were given their own backstage area with direct access to the stage. The aspirations and pioneering spirit of its builders (Fernitz was one of the first communities in Styria with electricity thanks to the Purkarthofer's power plant in 1907) could be seen everywhere.
The dedicated and sophisticated restoration in 2012 lends the Old Cinema its current unique character. Those who walk the halls attentively can still discover a lot. The stage is still there. The original adjustable chandeliers, which can be raised and lowered, shine in timeless brilliance. The rows of seats are numbered in full numbers and the projection technique is operated from a hidden part of the building. And when one enters the main office, one is actually standing in the cinema's former projection room. The Old Cinema Fernitz is looking forward to your visit and welcomes everyone with its illustrious history.
Kirchplatz // 8072 Fernitz